8 State Drivers Licenses That Will Be DENIED For Domestic Air Travel

If you are someone who likes to travel by airplane, here is something you MUST look into immediately. Next year, residents of eight states will no longer be able to use their state-issued ID for domestic air travel.

Check it out:

VIA| Domestic travel just got more challenging and expensive thanks to the national implementation of REAL ID Act. According to the Department of Homeland Security, REAL ID is a federal mandate that sets a national standard for identification documents. States do not have to participate but federal agencies do.

This means the Transportation Security Administration will not be allowing passengers who do not have driver’s licenses compliant with the new DHS REAL ID standards or other forms of acceptable identification, such as passports, through security checkpoints. The cost to obtain or renew a passport varies, but it can be over $100.

Half of the states, 25 to be exact, already issue driver’s licenses compliant with REAL ID standards and 17 other states have been granted extensions for making the change.

According to SimpleMost, residents of the eight non-compliant states that have not been granted an extension—

  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • Washington

—will have to find suitable alternative IDs when traveling domestically from those states prior to Jan. 22, 2018.

According to the TSA website, here is a list of some alternative  acceptable forms of personal identification documents: U.S. passports, U.S. passport cards, U.S. military IDs, DHS trusted traveler cards, permanent resident cards, and U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services Employment Authorization Cards (I-766).

Continue reading here…

Leave a Reply